Love Comes Calling by Siri Mitchell

love comes calling

 

Publication Date: 2014

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

ARC Copy from Bethany House Publishers and Netgalley.com

 

 

“I want to do what is right, but I can’t. I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway.”

-Ellis Eaton

This quote from Ellis Eaton sets the tone for the entire first half of this book. Ellis is an extremely attention deficit Radcliffe College student during the 1920’s, who struggles continually. The use of Ellis’s voice in character creates a novel that feels jumpy and lacking in focus. The voice of the main character struggling with a lack of focus felt annoying to me as the reader.

This book was not a particularly enjoyable read for me due to the constant diversion of the main character’s mind. She is distracting and not very appealing, particularly during the first half of the novel. She frequently comes across selfish and self-centered as well.

Her love interest, Griff Phillips, is a decent clean cut all American kid that plays quarterback for Harvard and investigates bad politicians in his spare time. Griff is very likable and just the opposite of Ellis. They do make an interesting contrast in character.

Historical detail is abundant through the use of background settings, such as the speakeasies and the phone office. The novel deals with several moral issues such as alcohol and Prohibition; however, I did not feel it touched on inspirational values or themes. The book may appeal to some readers of historical fiction, but I do not believe it is specifically targeted towards the inspirational market. I have enjoyed Ms. Mitchell’s writing in other books, but this one just did not appeal to me.

This ARC copy was received from Bethany House Publishers and Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. The above thoughts and opinions are wholly my own.

Rated: 2 out of 5

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under American Frontier, Historical Fiction, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Love Comes Calling by Siri Mitchell

  1. I must say, I have read a couple of Siri Mitchell’s books, and I have enjoyed them very much. This one, however, I haven’t read. I hope one day soon you may read and enjoy “Charter to Redemption”, and may favour me with your review. 🙂
    D. J. Blackmore.
    http://www.djblackmore.com.au

    Like

Leave a Reply

